E. W. Hornung

Ernest William Hornung Ernest William Hornung (7 June 1866 - 22 March 1921), known professionally as E. W. Hornung (nickname Willie), was a poet and English author, most famous for writing the A. J. Raffles series of novels about a gentleman thief in late 19th century London.

Hornung was born in Middlesbrough, England, the third son and youngest of eight children of John Peter Hornung, who was born in Hungary. Ernest Hornung was educated at Uppingham School during some of the later years of its great headmaster, Edward Thring. Hornung spent most of his life in England and France, but in December 1883 left for Australia, arrived in 1884 and stayed for two years where he worked as a tutor at Mossgiel station in the Riverina. Although his Australian experience was brief, it influenced most of his literary work from A Bride from the Bush published in 1899, to Old Offenders and a few Old Scores, which was published after his death. Nearly two-thirds of his 30 published novels make reference to Australian incidents and experiences.

Hornung returned to England in February 1886, and married Constance ("Connie") Aimée Monica Doyle (1868-1924), the sister of his friend Sir Arthur Conan Doyle on 27 September 1893. Hornung worked as a journalist and also published the poems Bond and Free and Wooden Crosses in the newspaper The Times. The character A. J. Raffles, a "gentleman thief", was published first in Cassell's Magazine during 1898 and the stories were later collected as The Amateur Cracksman (1899). Other stories of the series include The Black Mask (1901), A Thief in the Night (1905), and the full-length novel Mr. Justice Raffles (1909). He also co-wrote the play Raffles, The Amateur Cracksman with Eugene Presbrey in 1903.

Read More

There are 2 related books   

Title: At Large

Author: E. W. Hornung

Published: 1902

Genre: Mystery

Title: Dead Men Tell No Tales

Author: E. W. Hornung

Published: 1897

Genre: Adventure

There are 2 related books